James Sands ’60 (Kasson, Minn.) spent his career as a teacher and athletic director in the Kasson-Mantorville district for 32 years, and was inducted into the Minnesota Athletic Director Hall of Fame in 2007. Jim passed away in June 2020.



Donald Pappas ’80 (Mantorville, Minn.) was presented with an official Minnesota Senate resolution that recognized Pappas’ decades of work with The Hubbell House in Mantorville, MN. The Hubbell house has been in the Pappas family since 1946.

Terry Shapiro ’85 (Lake Worth, Fla.) was promoted to Vice President and Executive Director of Origins Behavioral HealthCare’s Florida programs, including the Hanley Center, a preeminent provider of addiction treatment for over 30 years.



Julie Nielsen ’92 (Prescott, Wis.) became the first female superintendent for South Washington County Schools. She has served the school district for 24 years, most recently holding the assistant superintendent position for the last six years.

Carissa Schively Slotterback ’95 (Lake City, Minn.) was named dean of the University of Pittsburgh Graduate School of Public and International Affairs. She previously served as the associate dean of the Humphrey School of Public Affairs at the University of Minnesota.



Tabitha Wheeler ’01 (Minneapolis, Minn.) was selected as the 2020 Minnesota School Social Worker of the Year by the Minnesota School Social Workers Association. She has worked as a school social worker at the High School for Recording Arts in St. Paul for 17 years.

Ann (Jensen) Shanahan ’01 (Goodyear, Ariz.) was selected as a James Madison Fellow for 2020 by the James Madison Memorial Fellowship Foundation’s 29th annual fellowship competition. The fellowships support the graduate study of American history by aspiring and experienced secondary school teachers.

Jay Wackerly ’03 (Godfrey, Ill.), associate professor of chemistry at Central College, was the primary author of a research paper titled “Cambiarenes: Single-Step Synthesis and Selective Zwitterion Binding of a Clip-Shaped Macrocycle with a Redox-Active Core” in Chemistry – A European Journal.”

Julie Hull ’05 (Shafer, Minn.) is now serving as an elementary school principal in Scandia, MN. She previously worked at Falcon Ridge Elementary in New Prague, MN for 10 years.


Sarah (Abrahamson) Racine ’05 (Hastings, Minn.) completed her Not-for-Profit Level II Certificate Program offered by the Association of International Certified Professional Accountants (AICPA). She works as an associate director at Mahoney Ulbrich Christiansen Russ P.A. in St. Paul.

Rohit Tandon ’05 (Minneapolis, Minn.) now serves as chief information security officer for the State of Minnesota. Prior to his work with the state he served as the Information Security Leader at Strategic Education Inc.


Jonathan Schmitz ’07 (Shakopee, Minn.) welcomed baby Damon Jack Schmitz to the family on May 5, 2020.

Heather (Gosse) Kosik ’08 (Alma, Wis.) welcomed baby Shea Steven on April 28, 2020. He joins big brother Liam and sister Finleigh.

Brian Lentz ’07 (Stillwater, Minn.) and Robert Bergmann ’09 (Boyceville, Wis.) are scouting a potential gold mine in the Black Hills through a company related to their Big Rock Exploration company, F3 Gold. If approval comes through, they will be able to conduct a test drilling plan outside Silver City, SD. If gold deposits are revealed, it would validate their geographic theories inspired by one of their mentors, WSU Geoscience Professor Stephen Allard.




Jillian (Hoffman) Lorang ’10 (Chanhassen, Minn.) and Aaron Lorang welcomed their son, Robert “Robbie” Richard Lorang on April 3, 2020.


Brandi (Hagen) Krenz ’11 (Twin Lakes, Minn.) married Zakry Krenz of Glennville, MN on May 1, 2020 in Albert Lea.

Nick Jepson ’11 (Glenville, Minn.) announced his engagement to Meghan Ewing. The couple has one child, Carsson Ewing.

Nicole (Young) Herold ’11 (Galesville, Wis.) welcomed baby boy Ashton Scott Herold, who was born May 10, 2020.

Darren Davis ’12 (Minneapolis, Minn.) was named the 2019 Mike Siitari Officer of the Year by the Edina Crime Prevention Fund for going above and beyond the call of duty. He joined the Edina Police Department in 2016, where he has since joined the SWAT team, become a Neighborhood Engagement Officer and drone operator, and sits on the city’s Race & Equity Advancement Team.

Jacob Hite ’13 (Seattle, Wash.) has taken a new position as the head of product and technology for Compete to Create, and online and live educational platform created by Dr. Michael Gervais and Seahawks Head Coach Pete Carroll.


Benjamin Rydberg ’14 (Northfield, Minn.) married Katie Reed on July 11, 2020 at the Church of Saint Dominic in Northfield, MN.   


Daniel Husbands ’14 (Mendota Heights, Minn.) announced his engagement to Megan Marie Kidd.

Emily Belshan ’15 (Albert Lea, Minn.) married Josh Howe, also of Albert Lea, on June 13, 2020.  


Darren Fetzer ’16 (St. Paul, Minn.) was promoted to Associate Manager at Mahony Ulbrich Christiansen Russ P.A., a full-service CPA firm.


Alex Witkowski ’18 (Farmington, Minn.) was sworn in as a new officer with the Apple Valley Police Department.

Samual Streukens ’19 (Winona, Minn.) started his time with the Peace Corps in Guatemala as a volunteer rural development facilitator. The first three months of his time in Guatemala will be spent with a host family as he takes time to learn the language and culture. After, he will be assigned to a community to work and live in for two years.

Tyler Maroushek ’19 (Winona, Minn.) finished his first year of teaching in Byron, MN where he works as a special education teacher.

The following two tabs change content below.
Winona State University Communications Office manages media relations for the university as well as external and internal communications, connecting with local and regional media outlets in Winona, Rochester, La Crosse and the Twin Cities

Latest posts by Winona State University Communications (see all)